A Day At The Methadone Clinic

I’ve been seeing the same faces every week for 3 years at the methadone clinic. But it seems new faces have been appearing more and more; so many people who can relate to each other and don’t even know it. Few of us have gotten to know each other better, and we are able to talk and somewhat help each other out; it’s almost like having a group therapy session. People from all walks of life go weekly to maintain their sobriety, if you consider methadone patients clean. I do, because I am one of them. If it wasn’t for my daily dose of methadone I don’t know where I’d be. I am however aware that I will have to come off of it at some point, I just have to make sure I’m ready this time.

I’ve heard and seen heartbreaking stories of people’s struggles with addiction. Everything from domestic disputes, to deaths, to amputations. Sometimes these stories are sad, sometimes scary, sometimes inspiring, but always unique. It is a place full of sadness, despair, hurt, anger, but it also has happiness, strength, empathy, and most of all it is a place that has hope. Although some may not agree with methadone or suboxone; it’s a fact that these medications have saved lives. It has given people an opportunity at a new life, a job, a career, a family; again it has given people hope. Hope is priceless; hope is something that can change a person’s life. Hope is a possibility, and sometimes that remote possibility becomes a reality.

I used to want to hide my face while walking into the methadone clinic. I didn’t want people to know anything about me; I didn’t want people to judge me. Thing’s have changed and I now walk in there proudly. I am proud that I have made it this far, proud that I am still breathing, proud that I have a future, and happy that I have hope. I have found a place where I am not judged, a place where everyone can relate one way or another. All I can do is make the best out of the situation, and that’s what I have done. At the end of the day, like it or not; we all look up at the same set of stars.

6 thoughts on “A Day At The Methadone Clinic

  1. Loved this. And I definitely agree, so many people are against methadone or suboxone but when it comes down to it I don’t think I could have gone this far without it. It made the first few months of sobriety so much easier. Many just have to realize that their way might just not work for some others. You sure do have a lot to be proud of. Keep doing awesome!
    =]

  2. Hey dear,
    hope is a mate for our soul. Your lines are so true which implies hope can give happiness and strength. You’ve got strength; I’m happy for you that you’ve developed positive attitude towards life… Well doing your blog can inspire a lot of people and help them from getting out of their miseries.
    Hope you get well soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

